Skip to Main Content
African American History
- Africans in America
Chronicles the history of racial slavery in the United States -- from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 16th century to the end of the American Civil War in 1865. Includes narrative and primary sources.
- Black Soldiers in the U.S. Military During the Civil War (National Archives)
Includes primary sources
- Freedom's Journal
First newspaper owned and produced by African Americans (1827-1829)
- From Slavery to Civil Rights: A Timeline of African-American History
From the Library of Congress a collection of primary sources organized by an interactive timeline.
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Texts, images and maps of 400 years of migrations.
- Jim Crow Museum - Ferris State University
Wide range of digital resources, incl. primary sources, background & biographies.
- NAACP Criminal Justice Fact Sheet
A compilation of facts and figures surrounding policing, the criminal justice system, incarceration, and more.
- NAACP Find Resources page
Includes more reports, studies, guidelines on a wide range of issues including voting, COVID, student debt and the environment.
- History Explained
Includes Civil Rights, lynching, policing and voting.
- National Museum of African American History and Culture
- Negro, Black and African-American Census Reports
U. of Missouri-census reports data,in addition to population and housing censuses, race information can also be found in some agricultural census reports
- Black Panthers
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
- Scottsboro Boys
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Irish American History
- Life in Mid-19th Century Five Points
Primary and secondary sources on this Irish American immigrant community, covering the economic, social, political and religious life in an American slum.
Religious Identity
- Archive of Muslim American History & Life
Muslim American history from the colonial era to the present with an emphasis on Muslims in greater Indianapolis. It includes memoirs, newspapers, books, reports, speeches and other documents that reveal the place of Muslims in American social, political, religious, cultural, and economic life.
-
Jewish Women's Archive
The Jewish Women’s Archive is a national organization dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women. JWA explores the past as a framework for understanding the issues important to women today; inspires young people with remarkable role models; and uses Jewish women’s stories to excite people to see themselves as agents of change.
Asian American History
- Asian America
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
- Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives: University of California
Photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories and more pertaining to the experience of Americans of Japanese decent who were relocated to camps after the bombing of Pearl Harbor.
- Japanese American Internment: Library of Congress
Digitized primary sources pertaining to Japanese American internment during WWII.
- Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946: Library of Congress
Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps./li>
- Chinese Exclusion Act(National Archives)
Primary source analysis
- Chinese Exclusion Act(National Archives)
"The interactive book...weaves together primary source documents from the Immigration Service, custom houses, ports of entry, and Angel Island Immigration Station
Native American History
- American Indian Movement
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
- Wounded Knee>
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties: Oklahoma State University
Laws and treaties with Native American Tribes (1778-1971).
- Native American Heritage Month
Provides links to a variety of online primary and secondary sources, covering topics such as Native American veterans, historical sites, treaties, and culture.
- Native Voices
Interactive timeline, online exhibit and recorded interviews with Native Americans concerning the topics of health and illness. Interviews provide insight into the culture and history of various tribes.
