Skip to main content
MS8: Finding Data and Statistics
Search this Guide
MS8: Finding Data and Statistics
Public Opinion & Polls
Business & Economics
Find Your Own Data
Need background Information?
Citing your sources
This is an official U.S. government site that has collected statistics on many different topics. Click through or search to find what you need!
"Your window into US Federal statistics"
American Fact Finder
Statistics collected by the Census Department. Searchable by zip code
CIA World Factbook
Annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.
United States Budget and Spending
Congressional Budget Office
This site goes into estimates for how much laws passed by the U.S. Congressional Office will cost.
Budget of the U.S. Government
This site provides data on the budget of the U.S. government broken down by fiscal year going back to 1996.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
This page links to statistics provided by the Center for Disease Control.
CDC: Data & Statistics
Unlike the FastStats page, this page provides more comprehensive coverage of the data available on the CDC site.
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
This page from the NIH is the homepage for their statistics. Click on topics on the left-hand side to find stats on various conditions.
Henry J. Kaiser Foundation
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy
State Health Facts - from Kaiser
Incarceration in the United States
Bureau of Justice Statistics
This site is searchable and has data concerning the current total correctional population.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
This site provides information on inmate, population, and staff statistics.
NAACP Criminal Justice Fact Sheet
This page from the NAACP provides information concerning trends and inequalities in the United States' criminal justice system.
Incarceration Nation (report)
This 2014 report from the American Psychological Association delves into the issue of why the United States is the nation that incarcerates the most of its citizens.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
This site allows users to search through data on labor in the United States (this is also available under the "Employment" section of the "MORE" tab on this LibGuide).
This site allows you to enter in a zip code or other geographic location and find information on the people who live there. Income information is one data point that you can pull.
IRS: Tax Statistics
This site from the IRS compiles data on taxes in the U.S. Click through to find the data you need.
Getting the Facts Straight Straight on America's Tax Burden (blog post)
This 2011 blog post from Dan Pfeiffer, then the Assistant to the President, handles some of the claims made by Chris Wallace of Fox News and provides statistics on the issue.
Transit Commuting Reported in the American Community Survey
This report from 2010 goes into the issue of transit use as reported by commuters.
Federal Transit Administration: Annual National Transit Summaries and Trends
This page from the FTA provides data from 1998 to 2014.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
This department site provides various reports and other information on transportation in the U.S.
Public Opinion & Polls >>
Jan 21, 2020 12:46 PM
Login to LibApps