Skip to main content

HIST: Class II US History

US History websites

Websites organized by subject and time period.

  • American Journeys
    Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in 1000 CE to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later
  • Sixties Project: Primary Document Archive
    Includes documents from Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Blank Panther Party, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and several similar groups.
  • Black Panthers -primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Students For a Democratic Society 
    primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Baltimore 68: Riots and Rebirth
    Offers oral histories, newspaper clippings, local government documents and photographs related to Baltimore's riots following the 1968 assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Temperance and Prohibition
    Provides an overview of the temperance movement; includes photographs, political cartoons, charts, graphs, and excerpts from primary documents.
  • We Raise Our Voices
    Small collection of items documenting Boston's African American, Latino, feminist, and LGBT community histories.
  • Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
    Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage. The collection consists of Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, Presidential proclamations, prints and photographs, historic manuscripts and motion pictures.
  • ?Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
    Primary source accounts from those who worked with Cesar Chavez to build the farmworker movement (1962-1993).
  • Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
    UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library maintains a large digital collection of documents from Berkeley's 1964-65 Free Speech Movement. Bibliographies and other historical background is also included.
  • Haymarket Affair Digital Collection
    Presents images of key documents and artifacts in their historical context. Includes trial documents, broadsides, photos and more.
  • American Indian Movement
    primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Wounded Knee - primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties: Oklahoma State University
  • Native American Heritage Month
  • Native Voices
  • Marxist Internet Archive
  • I.W.W
    primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Ku Klux Klan
    primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Sacco - Vanzetti
    primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University

Politics/Government

  • American Presidency Project
  • Political Americana Collection
    ?
    Presidential promotional and commemorative items dating from 1789 to 1980, with elections from 1832 to 1960 particularly well represented.
  • National Security Archive
    Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources.
  • Red Scare, 1918-1921
  • Rosenberg Case -primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Hollywood Ten -primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Women Working, 1800-1930
  • Birth Control primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
  • Discovering American Women's History Online
    This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
  • Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
  • The World on the Brink: JFK and the Cuban Missile Crisis
    Witness the 13 days of crisis one day at a time on our World on the Brink microsite.Through primary sources, you’ll see the confrontation unfolding from one day to the next. Examine the intelligence photos JFK acted upon, listen in on secretly recorded ExComm meetings, hear JFK’s speech to the nation about the unfolding crisis of a missile build-up in Cuba, read the correspondence between Kennedy and Krushchev, and discover the peaceful solution to this historic crisis.

Primary Sources: General US sites

General American History

 Primary sources that span all or part of U.S. history


Historical News Sources

 Historical Newspapers


Chronicling America (Library of Congress)

  • Search digitized U.S. newspapers published from 1690-present.

Boston Public Library (BPL): Newspapers

  • *Requires a BPL electronic card - available to anyone with a MA address and takes about 1 minute.

Afro American Archive

 Journals from early 20th cent

The Crisis

The Messenger

African American periodicals (Hathitrust)

The Masses