Skip to Main Content
Milton Academic Integrity Pamphlet
Middle East history & modern conflict
- Encyclopaedia Iranica
A comprehensive online reference source dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. Includes a list of other online sources with both primary and secondary sources.
- Islam - from the Global Studies Collection at Columbia
Includes a wide range of primary and secondary sources on Islam both historically and in the modern world.
- Middle East Studies Virtual Library - Columbia
Extensive compilation of online resources on the Middle East and North Africa and organized by region, country and subject.
- Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
A collection of public domain materials, predominantly from primary sources, made available by the History Department at Fordham University.
- Israeli-Palestinian Conflict - primary source documents 1896-2011
- Middle East, 1916-2001: a documentary record
Primary source materials: government documents, transcripts of speeches by government leaders and UN resolutions. Arranged by year.
- Saddam Hussein Sourcebook: Declassified Secrets from the U.S.-Iraq Relationship
Brings together five briefing books previously published by the National Security Archive into one searchable file of primary sources. These include "Iraq and Weapons of Mass Destruction," "Eyes on Saddam," "Alleged Iraqi War Criminals in 1992," "Operation Desert Storm," and "Shaking Hands with Saddam: U.S. Policy before the Gulf War."
- Travelers in the Middle East Archive
A digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- World Digital Library: Middle East & North Africa
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
- Bin Ladin's Bookshelf
Documents recovered during the raid on the compound used to hide Usama bin Ladin. The release contains two sections: a list of non-classified, English-language material found in and around the compound; and a selection of now-declassified documents.
- Israel's Foreign Policy - Historical Documents
Published by the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, these are documents (official statements, press conferences, interview, letters, etc.) relating to Israel's foreign relations from 1947-2004.