Skip to Main Content
Milton Academic Integrity Pamphlet
- African Kingdoms
Resources and primary documents from Boston University’s African Studies Center, “Teaching Africa” website.
- Africa Online Digital Library
- Provides tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources.
- African Posters
Huge collection of posters representing politics, health, religion, liberation struggles from the mid-19th century through today.
*Many on South Africa
- Africa South of the Sahara
Huge list of online resources organized by country and topic.
- Children and Youth in History: Primary Sources by Regiona: MIddle East/North Africa
- Library of Congress Africana Collection
- U of Penn - Africa Studies Center
Internet resources organized by individual country, type of resource and subject
- World History Archives: The History of Africa as a Whole
documents to support the study of world history from a working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective" (Central Connecticut State U.)
- Liberian Letters
This site features more than 50 letters from freed American slaves living in 19th-century Liberia, West Africa, to their former masters and associates in Virginia.
Voices from the Rwanda TribunalLink opens in new window
Contains 49 video interviews conducted with personnel from the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). Collected in 2008, these interviews reveal the challenges of striving for justice and reconciliation after genocide.
- South Africa History Online
Provides a timeline of SA history, which includes reference and primary sources, such as interviews, newspaper clippings, speeches etc...
- Digital Innovation South Africa
"Online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994" Includes primary sources.
- Heart of Hope: South Africa's Transition from Apartheid to Democracy
- Overcoming Apartheid
First-hand accounts,interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives,