Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in 1000 CE to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later
Baltimore 68: Riots and Rebirth
Offers oral histories, newspaper clippings, local government documents and photographs related to Baltimore's riots following the 1968 assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Temperance and Prohibition
Provides an overview of the temperance movement; includes photographs, political cartoons, charts, graphs, and excerpts from primary documents.
We Raise Our Voices
Small collection of items documenting Boston's African American, Latino, feminist, and LGBT community histories.
Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage. The collection consists of Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, Presidential proclamations, prints and photographs, historic manuscripts and motion pictures.
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library maintains a large digital collection of documents from Berkeley's 1964-65 Free Speech Movement. Bibliographies and other historical background is also included.
Africans in America
Chronicles the history of racial slavery in the United States -- from the start of the Atlantic slave trade in the 16th century to the end of the American Civil War in 1865. Includes narrative and primary sources.
Digitized primary sources pertaining to the Civil War. Materials include: Official Records, Addresses & Speeches, Acts, Bills, & Orders, Military Correspondence & Documents, Personal Correspondence & Narratives, Prints & Photos, and Maps.
Interactive timeline, online exhibit and recorded interviews with Native Americans concerning the topics of health and illness. Interviews provide insight into the culture and history of various tribes.
Political Americana Collection
?Presidential promotional and commemorative items dating from 1789 to 1980, with elections from 1832 to 1960 particularly well represented.
National Security Archive Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources.
Database of nearly 300 images that seeks to document the pervasive fear of this era, "not only as it related to what variously were called "Reds", "Anarchists", "Outside Foreign-Born Radical Agitators" and the like...but rather the whole breadth of experiences from this period of which the anti-red hysteria was one symptom."
Rosenberg Case -primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemerafrom the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Hollywood Ten -primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemerafrom the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Birth Control- primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemerafrom the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Discovering American Women's History Online This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
This site documents various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
The World on the Brink: JFK and the Cuban Missile Crisis
Witness the 13 days of crisis one day at a time on our World on the Brink microsite.Through primary sources, you’ll see the confrontation unfolding from one day to the next. Examine the intelligence photos JFK acted upon, listen in on secretly recorded ExComm meetings, hear JFK’s speech to the nation about the unfolding crisis of a missile build-up in Cuba, read the correspondence between Kennedy and Krushchev, and discover the peaceful solution to this historic crisis.
Primary Sources: General US sites
General American History
Primary sources that span all or part of U.S. history
America in Class: Primary Sources Collection of primary sources, organized into themes and representing films, newsreels, animated cartoons, comic strips, radio broadcasts, sound recordings, texts, fiction selections, visual art, photographs, and music selections. Nine collections of political cartoons and twenty-one collections of contemporary commentary.
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920
Presents 253 narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.