Skip to Main Content

HIST: US History Resources

Subject Guide

Milton Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity Statement

Subject Specific

American Indian Experience: The American Mosaic
Illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations
Collection of world, primary source documents, both historical and modern.
Heritage Quest
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more
Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy (Defining Documents in World History
Primary Source collection on pandemics throughout history. Also provides an historical overview.
PolicyMap
Online data and mapping tools; includes a variety of demographic breakdowns, along with income, housing, quality of life, economics, education, and health.and other areas.
Statista
Statistics covering topics in history, media, business, finance, politics etc... Charts can be viewed, embedded and downloaded in several formats ( PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint ).
The 1930's (Defining Documents in American History)
Provides detailed analysis of this pivotal time period in American history and are broken up into six broad categories: Setting Up the New Deal; Unemployment and Relief; Women, Minorities, and Youth; The Bonus Army;Foreign Policy Culture; Crime.
The Gun Debate (Defining Documents in American History)
Offers an in-depth analysis of thirty-five documents, including speeches, court rulings, legal texts, blog posts, manifestos, and legislative acts.

Academic Journals

Gale AcademicOneFile Select

Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines; including arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.
Academic Search Complete

Includes full-text journals, peer-reviewed journals, in addition to scholarly periodicals, reports, books, and more.
JSTOR

A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources with a humanities focus.

Background Research

General Information

US History Specific

Newspapers

Digital access

Database

US Major Dailies
- Chicago Tribune
- Los Angeles Times
- Washington Post.
New York Times, Historical 1851 - 2012

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2024 2:16 PM
URL: https://libguides.milton.edu/usresource
Print Page

Subjects: American History