Resource Guides: HIST: U.S. Immigration project: Web Sources

Milton Academic Integrity

Digital Public Library of America: primary source sets
Wide range world history sources from ancient, medieval and modern time periods. The sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.
DocsTeach - Thousands of primary sources; letters, photographs, newspaper articles and more on Immigration from National Archives. Searchable by ethnicity and time period.
Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History
From the Library of Congress, traces community and individual experiences using primary sources.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Collection of selected historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Immigration History
From the U of Texas - includes Asian, European and South American immigration with history and current immigration policies, facts, statistics. and a timeline of US Law specific to immigration. Also provides a list of Archival Databases and Historical Sources

African American History-Primary Source Sets
(Library of Congress) Letters, photographs, newspaper articles and other primary source materials.Includes the great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance and Jim Crow.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Texts, images and maps of 400 years of migrations.
The Great Migration (African American)
(U of Washington) Includes interactive tables, maps and data.

Asian America Digital Collection
Tracing the history of Asian Americans in the U.S., collection materials include information about the regulation of Chinese immigration in the late 19th century and, illustrated by impressive photographs, the internment of more than 100,000 people of Japanese ancestry during the World War II.
Asian America
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Building the Raitroads
General overview, primary and secondary sources.
Chinese Exclusion Act (National Archives)
Provides documents and analysis, as well as links to additional primary source materials.
Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project
(Stanford University) Resources include primary source images and oral histories
Immigration to the United States, 1851-1900
(Library of Congress) Includes documents and images of Chinese immigrant life.

Life in Mid-19th Century Five Points
Primary and secondary sources on this Irish American immigrant community, covering the economic, social, political and religious life in an American slum.
Irish Immigration: Beyond the Potato Famine
Includes original newspaper article scans from the mid-nineteenth century.
Irish and German Immigration
Provides an overview, as well as primary source accounts. Links to other sites with primary sources is included.
Irish Immigration and the Know-Nothings
Overview with pictures and links of Irish immigration and life in 1850's Boston.

Asian America Digital Collection
Tracing the history of Asian Americans in the U.S., collection materials include information about the regulation of Chinese immigration in the late 19th century and, illustrated by impressive photographs, the internment of more than 100,000 people of Japanese ancestry during the World War II.
Asian America
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University
Densho Archives
Contains primary sources (oral histories, images, and records) that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on World War II incarceration.

Early Twentieth Century Mexican Immigration to the U.S.
General overview, primary and secondary sources.
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Immigration Restriction
In this speech delivered in the House of Representatives in 1928, Congressman John Box calls for restrictions on Mexican immigration. Analysis and text provided.
Latinx Great Migrations - History and Geography
(U of Washington) Includes interactive tables, maps and data.

From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America A Century of Immigration, 1820-1924
Jacob Riis (1849-1914): Jewtown in New York 1890
Mark Twain: Concerning The Jews, Harper's Magazine, March, 1898
From Odessa to New York City: The Unique Legacy of America’s Soviet Jewry - NYPL - overview of Jewish American immigration and history with primary source images, statistics and links to further sources.
Washington State Jewish Archives
Tells the stories of early Jewish families who settled the Washington region and the unique Jewish experience in Washington State in subsequent years. Includes personal papers, correspondence, organizational and business records, diaries, oral histories, photographs, and films.