Resource Guides: GEN: Great Ancient & Medieval History Websites: Home

icon key

Recommended Primary Sources

The Avalon Project: Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance Documents (Yale Law School)
Collection primary source documents in law, history and diplomacy.
EuroDocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources medieval/renaissance Europe.
EuroDocs: History of Prehistoric and Ancient Europe
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources prehistory/ancient Europe.
Eyewitness to History: Ancient World
Large collection of eyewitness sources of historical events from ancient history.
Eyewitness to History: Middle Ages and Renaissance
Large collection of eyewitness sources of historical events from the 6th to the 16th centuries.
Global Medieval Sourcebook (Stanford U.)
Translated texts on a wide array of topics. Can search or browse by collection.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Undoubtedly the most extensive collection of primary sources available online.
The Internet Classics Library
Over 400 classical Greek and Roman texts can be searched at this online archive. Some Chinese and Persian texts included as well. All texts have been translated into English.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Undoubtedly the most extensive collection of primary sources available online.
The Online Medieval and Classical Library (UC Berkley)
Extensive collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Search or browse by Title, Author, Genre, or Language.
more...less...
Most of the texts date from the medieval European period. Among the genres represented are Arthurian works, epics, romances, chronicles, historical works; mythology , and other primary-source literature.