Resource Guides: SCI: Issues in Environmental Science: General Resources

Milton Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity Statement

Helpful Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources with a humanities focus.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide range of reference content with the field of science and organized by significant people, areas of specialty and related fields of math and technology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research by supporting high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
“Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world’s most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.”
Vendor-provided description
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. Provides need-to-know coverage, insights and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society.

Web Resources

California Energy Commission
The California Energy Commission is leading the state to a 100 percent clean energy future. As the state's primary energy policy and planning agency, the Energy Commission plays a critical role in creating the energy system of the future - one that is clean, is modern, and ensures the fifth largest economy in the world continues to thrive.
Environmental Health Perspectives
Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of environmental health research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources
more...less...
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Be wary that linked articles are not always available in their entirety or for free. Check in with the librarians to find out if we can find you a free version.
McKinsey Institute: Our Insights on Future Mobility
PLOS ONE
The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal
more...less...
PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported.
Project Drawdown
Our mission is to help the world reach “Drawdown”— the point in the future when levels of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere stop climbing and start to steadily decline, thereby stopping catastrophic climate change — as quickly, safely, and equitably as possible.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Rocky Mountain Institute
Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI)’s mission is to transform global energy use to create a clean, prosperous, and secure low-carbon future.
U.S. Geological Survey
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

Article Resources

Check out the abstracts for articles and then speak with Ms. Zimmer about access:

Environmental Science & Technology

Environmental Science & Technology Letters

What's an abstract?

An abstract is a short summary of a published research paper or scholarly article, usually about a paragraph long. A well-written abstract serves multiple purposes:

an abstract lets readers get the gist of the paper or article quickly, in order to decide whether to read the full paper;
an abstract prepares readers to follow the detailed information, analyses, and arguments in the full paper of article, and
an abstract helps readers remember the key points.