Resource Guides: MATH: Shark Tank Week: Research Resources

Basics

There are few books in our catalog that meet your needs - but there are many databases and other sources of information that will be useful. Remember to look for information on:

similar products
potential markets and pricing
advertising (NOTE: most celebrities are paid to appear to use products as part of their daily life!)

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Leading resource for scholarly research by supporting high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
“Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world’s most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.”
Vendor-provided description
Boston Globe 1980 to Present This link opens in a new window

E-Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Thomson Gale Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management, and information systems. Contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs. The new completely revised second edition includes 320 signed essays.
ISBN: 9780028660813
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by Thomas Riggs This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.
ISBN: 9780787673567
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Encyclopedia of Small Business by Thomson Gale Staff This convenient and exhaustive print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Small Business Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.
ISBN: 9780787691127
Publication Date: 2006-11-17