GEN: Great U.S. History Websites

Offers primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

Primary source collections organized by research topic: Anti-communism, Civil Rights and Freedom Schools, Civil Rights and the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, LGBTQ+, Nazis and World War II, Prohibition and Temperance, Vietnam War, Civil Rights and Voting Equality

A compilation of facts and figures surrounding policing, the criminal justice system, incarceration, and more.

Includes more reports, studies, guidelines on a wide range of issues including voting, COVID, student debt and the environment. *Make sure to browse "History Explained" an in-depth timeline/overview of important steps in understanding Black history and Civil Rights.

Collection of primary source documents from 1938 - 1953.

Civil Rights Movement history, personal stories, discussions & analysis, commentaries, and contact information by and for veterans of the Southern Freedom Movement Veterans.

Over 230 films, including rare footage includes full speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr., John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon...as original footage of school desegregation, public meetings, local debates over civil rights matters, and interviews with citizens. The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke.

Photos, speeches, documents, and references to numerous books and websites.

Digital media about Malcolm X, featuring video interviews with people who knew Malcolm, government documents, and archival footage.

Offers brief overview, biographies, images, and documents. From the National Museum of African American History & Culture.

Provides an overview in addition to a large compilation of primary source material organized by subtopics.

Provides primary sources: texts, documents, images, speeches and links along with source analysis.