Resource Guides: GEN: Great U.S. History Websites: African American

African American

African American History-Primary Source Sets (LOC)
Letters, photographs, newspaper articles and other primary source materials.Includes the great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance and Jim Crow.
Black Soldiers in the U.S. Military During the Civil War (National Archives)
Includes primary sources
Freedom's Journal
First newspaper owned and produced by African Americans (1827-1829). Includes all 103 issues
The Great Migration (African American) (U of Washington)
Includes interactive tables, maps and data.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Primary sources, including texts, images and maps of 400 years of migrations.
Jim Crow Museum (Ferris State U.)
Wide range of digital resources, incl. primary sources, background & biographies.
Negro, Black and African-American Census Reports (U. of Missouri)
Census reports data,in addition to population and housing censuses,. Also provides data on pauperism; the deaf, blind and insane; education; employment and other topics.
Plessy v. Ferguson (Jim Crow Laws): Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Contemporary newspaper articles covering the trial and outcome.
Race and Place: An African American Community in the Jim Crow South
Digital archive of racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century in Charlottesville, Virginia.
100 Years: Remembering the Tulsa Race Massacre (National Archives)
Overview, images, documents and links to additional primary sources.
Tulsa Race Massacre documents
Documents, including government sources and newspapers chronicling the event.