Resource Guides: GEN: Great U.S. History Websites: Asian American

Chinese American

Asian America (Michigan State U.)
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection
Building the Railroads
General overview, primary and secondary sources.
Chinese Exclusion Act (National Archives)
Provides documents and analysis, as well as links to additional primary source materials.
Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project (Stanford U.)
Resources include primary source images and oral histories
Discrimination Against Asian and Pacific Islander Americans: A Research Guide (LOC)
"Provides primary and secondary sources, in electronic and print formats, regarding historical and contemporary aspects of discrimination against Asian Americans."
more...less...
"On the History page, there are links to manuscripts, historical newspapers, photographs, and books. Under Contemporary Issues, there is a list of Asian American and Pacific Islander American advocacy group websites and a bibliography of books. The electronic resources provide access to academic journals, historical and current newspapers, and manuscripts.
Immigration to the United States, 1851-1900 (LOC)
Includes documents and images of Chinese immigrant life.

Japanese American

Densho Archives
Contains primary sources (oral histories, images, and records) that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on World War II incarceration.
Japanese American Internment (LOC)
Digitized primary sources pertaining to Japanese American internment during WWII.
Discrimination Against Asian and Pacific Islander Americans: A Research Guide (LOC)
"Provides primary and secondary sources, in electronic and print formats, regarding historical and contemporary aspects of discrimination against Asian Americans."
more...less...
"On the History page, there are links to manuscripts, historical newspapers, photographs, and books. Under Contemporary Issues, there is a list of Asian American and Pacific Islander American advocacy group websites and a bibliography of books. The electronic resources provide access to academic journals, historical and current newspapers, and manuscripts.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (U. of Cal)
Photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories and more pertaining to the experience of Americans of Japanese decent who were relocated to camps after the bombing of Pearl Harbor.
Asian America (Michigan State U.)
Primary source pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera from the Radicalism Collection
Japanese American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946 (LOC)
Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps